Skip to content

Brain dead then deader

October 18, 2012

2:50am.  Too sleepy to think, having read many books of late, seeking some kind of diversion, I checked out the television.

I am not sure how many channels I thumbed through, once, twice, three times, only to find nothing on, nothing to sidetrack my brain for just a while.   There had to be at least 40 channels of nothing to choose from.

Infomercials galore, shopping channels, “news” based more on sensationalism  than journalism, I found nothing to entertain or divert.  How many shows have been created since the advent of TV?  What has happened to entertainment from television?    Even PBS is down to only one station, broken up by nearly ten minutes of promotional material each hour.

Turned off my television, and considered canceling cable.  If they can’t offer something when I want to watch it, what’s the point?  Besides, that money could buy quite a few DVD’s of quality learning and/or entertainment.   I write a note to myself to borrow some DVD’s from our library.

And to think the NH Supreme Court classifies cable TV as an essential utility.  

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment